Acclimatization and the importance of routine

So a few days have passed and it seems that I haven’t been able to fully acclimatize with the new habits I set myself for New Year.  Especially the following:

  1. Get out of bed before 9:30am
  2. Daily planning

The reasons for the first problem are two-fold. Firstly, I sleep way too late, for some reason or another I am not able to sleep before 2am. To be able to get out of bed before 9:30am, I have to sleep before 1am, which means I have to get ready for bed around midnight. Secondly, I take a really long time to get out of bed, which could be a result of sleeping way too late. Either way, it seems necessary that I wake up around 9am if I want to get out of bed at 9:30am, because I’ve had to go through this “waking-up process” for a while now.

The second problem is a result of not knowing HOW to use the daily planner that I bought for myself, as well as not knowing WHEN to use it. I say I will plan during breakfast, but I believe that during breakfast my mind is blank about what needs to be done during the day, or what I have to do. I just write “study”. I believe the planning needs to be more detailed. What exactly do I need to study? Which chapters of which course? What do I need to work out at the gym? Etc. Also, I believe the planning needs to be done spread out during the day. I should have the planner at all times, just like a school diary I suppose. I think it should be used as a notebook rather than a planner, so I have recorded notes of what needs to be done during the day, instead of just saying, yeah I’ll do it when I have time.

It seems that a routine is necessary for me to maintain the good habits I want to keep. WDI begins next week. It starts at 9am and ends at 5pm. On top of that there is up to 5 hours of homework that needs to be done, and I need to go to the gym.  My routine should look something like this:

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 3.19.10 PM

Leave a Reply

